Gabriela Jauregui director and scriptwriter

Gabriela Jauregui


Mexican Writer. She did most of her studies in the United States, holds a PhD. in comparative literature from the University of Southern California, an MFA in creative writing from the University of California, Riverside, and an MA in comparative literature from the University of California, Irvine. She has published works in English and Spanish, including the poetry collection Controlled Decay (2008) and the short story collection La memoria de las cosas (2015). She was also one of the co-authors of the work Taller de taquimecanografía (2012).

She has collaborated on projects by Alfonso Cuarón (Roma), Alejandro Iñarritu (Bardo), Alejandra Márquez Abella (Las niñas bien), Constanza Novick (El futuro que viene) or Jairo Bustamante. Her latest writing projects are the TV series developed by Anonymous Content and, a documentary series about the anti-patriarchal struggle in Latin America, in development with La Corriente del Golfo production company.

She is also co-founder of the independent publishing collective Sur+ and president of the Aura Estrada Award Jury. In 2017, she was included in the Bogotá39 list, where Latin America’s most outstanding writers under 39 are mentioned.

Selected for the Bogota39 list (39 best Latin American under-40 authors). 2017.
FONCA Jóvenes Creadores (Letras/Cuento). 2012.
Selected as a member of the Aura Estrada Award Jury for writers. 2009-2011.
Soros New American Fellowship, Open Society Institute, 2007-2008.
Maxwell H. Gluck Fellowhsip in the Arts, University of California Riverside. 2006-2007.
Research Fellowship in the Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Southern California. 2006-2007.
Graduate Division Fellowship Award, University of California, Riverside. 2005-2006.
College Merit Award, Universidad of Southern California, 2005-2006.
Humanities Research Grant, Universidad of Southern California, Irvine 2004.
FONCA Foreign Studies Support Scholarship, 2003.
Regent’s Fellowship, Universidad of California, Irvine 2002-2003.
Raines Research Fellowship, Loyola Marymount University 2001-2002.
First Place, “Denise L. Scott Memorial Poetry Contest” 2001.